Hillhead/Jordanhill captain praises team after Murrayfield cup win

HILLHEAD/JORDANHILL Ladies captain Louise McMillan, paid tribute to her side after they defeating Murrayfield Wanderers 26-23 in a close-fought Sarah Beaney Cup final at Murrayfield.

A decisive try from Hannah Smith, her second of the match, converted by Ally Cook was enought to shade it.

Hillhead/Jordanhill captain, McMillan, said: “Before we always talked about how we deserved the victory but today I think we earned it. In the second half we took the opportunities when they were there.

“For a while everyone has been questioning whether we can beat them and for the whole season we’ve been saying, ‘yes we can’ but we haven’t been. The belief was there from the girls that we could beat them and today we did.”

Stewarty Sirens captured the BT Women’s plate for a second time after defeating Stirling County 29-17.

Player of the Match Lisa Ritchie supplied two second-half tries and a conversion to claim the trophy.

And in the Bowl, Garioch Ladies won their first silverware with a 29-20 victory over Kirkcaldy.

Second-half tries from Sophie Kate Anderson and Alisha Ross, with Jeneise Miles converting, following two first-half tries from Player of the Match Kimberley Rennicks.


Murrayfield Wanderers: Chloe Rollie; Eva Rojas Bonet, Sula Callender, Helen Nelson, Eilidh Sinclair; Lisa Martin, Jenny Taylor; Beth Dickens, Sarah Quick CAPTAIN, Lisa Robertson, Emma Wassell, Sarah McCormack, Jennifer Cram, Lucy Park, Rachel Cook. Replacements: Alison Wilson, Kirsty Fisher, Ciara O’Driscoll, Jilly Alford, Kirsty Auckland, Ellie Wilson, Christina Newton.

Hillhead Jordanhill: Aimee Watson; Sarah Smith, Abi Evans, Hannah Smith, Lizzie Willi; Ally Cook, Mairi McDonald; Heather Lockhart, Stella Kyalikunda, Lindsey Smith, Siobhan McMillan, Kirsty Reid, Hannah Telling, Louise McMillan CAPTAIN, Jade Konkel. Replacements: Kirsty Daly, Debbie Falconer, Jenny Johnston, Kirsty Openshaw, Andrea Gaffney, Fiona Dorman.

Referee: Alexandra Gordon Smith

Player of the Match: Hannah Smith (Hillhead Jordanhill)

Stirling County: 15. Jess McGurk 14. Lee Hannah 13. Rachel Shankland CAPTAIN 12. Siobhan Cattigan 11. Lara Flint 10. Lindsay Macnaughton 9. Jodie Hutton 1. Georgia Henderson 2. Tracy Scott 3. Eilidh McNab 4. Kerry Johnson 5. Diane Christie 6. Nikki McLeod 7. Heather Davis 8. Gemma Brown Subsitutes: 16. Dayle Park 17. Teresa Grobler 18. Jenny Menday 19. Amber Bax 20. n/a 21. Katie McIlwraith 22. Victoria Gray

Stewartry Sirens: 15. Jenny Yates, 14. Donna Burnett 13. Iona St Joseph 12. Chloe Johnstone 11. Bethan Cameron 10. Lisa Ritchie Claire Manson 1. Dawn Currie 2. Alana McWilliam 3. Shannon Nicholson 4. Clare Dooley 5. Tamsin Tyeson 6. Rachel Bragg 7. Sammy Durnan 8. Ali Henderson Subsitutes: 16. Joanne White 17. Lorna Tracey 18. Hannah Sloan 19. Hannah Sherlock 20. n/a 21. n/a

Player of the Match: Lisa Ritchie (Stewartry Sirens))

Referee: Kelly Mitchell


Garioch: Rheo Laurenson; Lisa Shand, Rebecca Bestwick, Sophie Kate Anderson, Liz Baroch; Alana Davidson CAPTAIN, Jeneise Miles; Emily Murphy, Stephanie Campbell, Mandy Kerr, Anna Ross, Alisha Ross, Jess Silcocks, Tina MacIntosh, Lindsey McDairmid. Replacements: Kimberly Eades, Kim Jamieson, Josie Shaw, Fay McAllen, Kimberley Rennicks, Catherine Busson, Maisie Ingram.

Kirkcaldy: Fiona Milne; Carrie-Anne Downs, Nicki Redpath, Hayley Samuel, Kayleigh Laing; Brenda Brogan, Linda Morrison; Karen Small, Deborah Stephenson, Rowan McNeil, Louise Heggie, Alison Massie CAPTAIN, Cassie McMahon, Emma Dyce, Emma Buckley. Replacements: Jordyn Cooper, Mhairi Cockburn, Kiera Gavan, Elaine Myles, Ailidh McCall, Samantha Lowe, Sandra Laird.

Player of the Match: Kimberley Rennicks (Garioch)

Referee: Lee Anne Steel